Throwback: How Gimmegate Turned The 2015 Solheim Cup Around
We look back at one of the most controversial moments in the history of the Solheim Cup


When the Saturday fourballs of the 2015 Solheim Cup eventually finished on the Sunday morning in Germany the scoreline read 10-6 to Europe but that only told us part of the story.
American rookie Alison Lee, playing with Brittany Lincicome, missed a putt to win the hole at the 17th but then picked up her ball, which was less than two feet past the hole, without the putt having been conceded.
Charley Hull was already heading to the 18th tee but Suzann Pettersen pointed out that the putt hadn't been given and the hole was awarded to Europe. They then won the closing hole and the Americans, led by Juli Inkster, had all the incentive that they needed and they would win eight and a half points in the singles for a one-point victory.
Lee would quickly become tearful before going on to win her singles match while Hull, who was also in tears by the 18th green in the morning, and Pettersen would both lose theirs.
At the time it was put to Pettersen that she might concede the 18th so the match would be halved but she was adamant in her thinking. Come the Monday morning the Norwegian, who would go on to captain Europe in 2023 and 2024, had had a change of heart.
“I’ve never felt more gutted and truly sad about what went down. I am so sorry for not thinking about the bigger picture in the heat of the battle and competition. I was trying my hardest for my team and put the single match and the point that could be earned ahead of sportsmanship and the game of golf itself. I feel like I let my team down and I am sorry," she said on her Instagram.
“To the US team, you guys have a great leader in Juli, who I’ve always looked up to and respect so much. Knowing I need to make things right, I had a face-to-face chat with her before leaving Germany this morning to tell her in person how I really feel about all of this. I wanted her also to know that I am sorry.
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to the Golf Monthly newsletter to stay up to date with all the latest tour news, equipment news, reviews, head-to-heads and buyer’s guides from our team of experienced experts.
“I hope in time the USA team will forgive me and know that I have learned a valuable lesson about what is truly important in this great game of golf, which has given me so much in my life. I wish I could change Sunday for many reasons. Unfortunately I can’t. I want to work hard to earn back your belief in me as someone who plays hard, plays fair and plays the great game of golf the right way.”
USA went on to fight back and win the singles session 8.5 - 3.5 to win the match by a score of 14.5 - 13.5.
On the Sunday evening eight members of the European team would join the US in their celebrations but Pettersen, unsurprisingly, was not one of them.
To this day, it is one of the biggest Solheim Cup controversies in the match's history.
Speaking months after the event captain, Europe's captain Carin Koch admitted that she wished things had been handled differently.
“It’s easy to say now going back, it just happened so fast. If there was any chance to slow it down a bit, discuss what happened, if that could have been possible, that probably would have been the one thing.
“I’m sad that it overshadowed the great moments we had and the great golf we played. That has been overshadowed by one putt on Sunday morning. The only thing we could do is give them the last hole. I did say to Suzann that was an option but she didn’t want to, so I just really had to back my number one player at that stage.”
As for Lee, she later revealed that things could have played out very differently.
"Our rules official had a part to play and could have given me a different option. At the time it felt like we talked forever but I guess it happened really quickly. I didn’t have any other options, I said I thought they had said ’that’s good’ and Suzann said they hadn’t and the rules official said there was a penalty and that we had lost the hole. I wanted to fight it but he looked at me and said ’I’m sorry’ and the rule was we couldn’t get a second opinion.
"I didn’t know about the ruling that I could retake the putt if there was a misunderstanding. We only found out about that until the day was over. It had never happened to me before, I have never picked up a ball early."
Mark has worked in golf for over 20 years having started off his journalistic life at the Press Association and BBC Sport before moving to Sky Sports where he became their golf editor on skysports.com. He then worked at National Club Golfer and Lady Golfer where he was the deputy editor and he has interviewed many of the leading names in the game, both male and female, ghosted columns for the likes of Robert Rock, Charley Hull and Dame Laura Davies, as well as playing the vast majority of our Top 100 GB&I courses. He loves links golf with a particular love of Royal Dornoch and Kingsbarns. He is now a freelance, also working for the PGA and Robert Rock. Loves tour golf, both men and women and he remains the long-standing owner of an horrific short game. He plays at Moortown with a handicap of 6.
-
'I Think We All Hoped It Would Have Been A Little Further Long, And That's No Secret' - Brooks Koepka's Echoes Recent Tough Love Towards LIV Golf
The five-time Major champion said progress is being made with the PIF-backed circuit after stating it was "quite far behind" its rivals on The Joe Pomp Show
By Jonny Leighfield Published
-
How You Can Play St Andrews Old Course In Reverse
You can win a tee time on the 'reversed' Old Course at St Andrews next year by shooting the lowest gross score over the virtual links this April
By Elliott Heath Published
-
Augusta National Women’s Amateur Winners: Where Are They Now?
The Augusta National Women's Amateur was first played in 2019 and, since then, a number of the tournament's winners have gone on to forge superb careers
By Matt Cradock Published
-
Augusta National Women's Amateur 2025 Tee Times - Round One
Lottie Woad returns to defend her Augusta National Women's Amateur title, with the Amateur World No.1 getting her first round underway alongside Amateur World No.2 Jasmine Koo
By Matt Cradock Published
-
Rianne Malixi Withdraws From Augusta National Women's Amateur With Back Injury
Rianne Malixi had been among the favorites going into the Augusta National Women's Amateur, but the US Women’s Amateur champion has been forced to withdraw due to injury
By Matt Cradock Published
-
How To Watch Augusta National Women’s Amateur: Live Streams, TV Channels, Schedule
This year will be the sixth running of the event, with 23 nationalities competing and with the final round played around Augusta National's iconic course.
By Roderick Easdale Published
-
Augusta National Women's Amateur 2025 Picks, Odds And Predictions
The Augusta National Women's Amateur returns for a sixth time, and many of the leading female players from all over the world will do battle in Georgia
By Jonny Leighfield Published
-
T-Mobile Match Play Prize Money Payout 2025
Nelly Korda defends her title as a field of 64 competes for an eye-catching purse at Nevada’s Shadow Creek Golf Club
By Mike Hall Published
-
'I Left Actually A Good Four Shots Out There' - Charley Hull Shoots Career Best LPGA Round But Had A 59 On Her Mind
Charley Hull felt a 59 was on the cards as she shot a career-best 63 at the Ford Championship, but came off the course feeling she'd left at least four shots out there
By Paul Higham Published
-
Charley Hull Makes Driver Change Ahead Of Ford Championship 63
The World No.10 moved into the new TaylorMade Qi35 LS ahead of this week's Ford Championship in Arizona, where she got off to a fast start
By Elliott Heath Published