Golf Rules
Read up on classic golf rules and discover the newest regulations with Golf Monthly - or simply settle a argument about the most obscure rules in the game.
Latest
-
Do You Get Free Relief From A Divot Hole In The Rough When It’s Preferred Lies?
If the committee has declared that preferred lies are in operation, do you get a free drop from a divot hole in the rough when your ball has landed in one?
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Do You Get A Free Drop If You’re Standing On A Sprinkler Head In The Rough?
What happens if you go to address your ball in the rough and find your foot slipping about on a sprinkler head. Are you entitled to a free drop?
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Five High Profile Rules Incidents of 2024
A look at five rules incidents that took place on the professional tours through 2024. David Wilson, Rules Manager at The R&A explains what happened in each case.
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Are You Disqualified If You Play A Ball From Out Of Bounds And Carry On?
If you find your ball is out of bounds and you decide to play it anyway, what happens next? Are you immediately disqualified or is there a way back?
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Golf Rules Quiz! Adjusting Clubs, Raking Footprints And Improving Lies
See how good your Rules of Golf knowledge is and whether you would follow the correct procedure in these scenarios...
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Golf Rules Quiz! Building A Stance, Sprinkler Heads and GUR
Golf Monthly offers up another multiple-choice quiz on the Rules of Golf. How much do you know about free drops and putting green repair work? Give it a try…
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Golf Rules Quiz! Damaged Balls, Staked Trees And Out of Bounds
See how you get on in this multiple-choice Golf Rules quiz. We test your knowledge on a variety of scenarios that you might encounter on the golf course
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Is There A Penalty If You Accidentally Knock Your Ball Off A Tee?
If you address the ball on the tee and your club touches it causing it to fall off, what do you do next? Are you facing a penalty shot or shots?
By Fergus Bisset Published
-
Do You Have To Carry A Minimum Number Of Clubs In Golf Competitions?
If you’re playing in a golf competition, do you have to carry a certain number of clubs? Is there a maximum and is there a minimum? Golf Monthly has the answer here.
By Fergus Bisset Published