Is A Ball Holed If It’s Wedged Against A Flagstick?
If your ball heads straight for the flag and becomes wedged against it, have you holed it? Or do you need to play it as it lies? It’s not a straightforward as you might think.


In the old days, before the 2019 Rules changes, you could have found yourself feeling very hard done by if you thought you’d holed out, even scored an ace perhaps. If you had reached your ball and found that the ball was wedged against the flagstick and not completely below the surface of the putting green, it would not have been treated as holed. That must have been a real buzz kill for a lot of premature celebrations.
But since 2019, things have changed. The answer now to the question, “Is a ball holed if it’s wedged against a flagstick?” is… wait for it… Maybe. What? Yes, the Rules of Golf can be complicated.
This scenario is covered by Rule 13.2c. For the ball to be classed as holed, some part of the ball must be below the surface of the putting green. It reads,
“If a player’s ball comes to rest against the flagstick left in the hole:
If any part of the ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green, the ball is treated as holed even if the entire ball is not below the surface.”
So, if your ball is even partially below the surface of the putting green then it’s holed.
But, if no part of the ball is below the surface and it’s wedged totally above ground then it’s not holed. 13.2c continues to say:
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to the Golf Monthly newsletter to stay up to date with all the latest tour news, equipment news, reviews, head-to-heads and buyer’s guides from our team of experienced experts.
“If no part of the ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green:
The ball is not holed and must be played as it lies.
If the flagstick is removed and the ball moves (whether it falls into the hole or moves away from the hole), there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced on the lip of the hole.”
So, if no part of the ball is below the surface then, even if wedged against the flagstick, it’s not holed. You must tap it in for an extra shot. If you don’t replace it in the correct spot and play from there, you incur the General Penalty of two shots.
If no part of the ball was below the surface, the ball fell in when you moved the flagstick, and you failed to hole out as required as above before starting the next hole, you would be disqualified.
So, you must be careful. If the ball is wedged against the flagstick and it is even partially below the surface of the putting green in the hole, it is holed. If it’s wedged against the flagstick above the hole and no part is below the putting surface, it isn’t holed. Bad luck!
Fergus is Golf Monthly's resident expert on the history of the game and has written extensively on that subject. He has also worked with Golf Monthly to produce a podcast series. Called 18 Majors: The Golf History Show it offers new and in-depth perspectives on some of the most important moments in golf's long history. You can find all the details about it here.
He is a golf obsessive and 1-handicapper. Growing up in the North East of Scotland, golf runs through his veins and his passion for the sport was bolstered during his time at St Andrews university studying history. He went on to earn a post graduate diploma from the London School of Journalism. Fergus has worked for Golf Monthly since 2004 and has written two books on the game; "Great Golf Debates" together with Jezz Ellwood of Golf Monthly and the history section of "The Ultimate Golf Book" together with Neil Tappin , also of Golf Monthly.
Fergus once shanked a ball from just over Granny Clark's Wynd on the 18th of the Old Course that struck the St Andrews Golf Club and rebounded into the Valley of Sin, from where he saved par. Who says there's no golfing god?
You must confirm your public display name before commenting
Please logout and then login again, you will then be prompted to enter your display name.
-
Who Are The ESPN Golf Broadcast Team? Commentators, Analysts And Anchors For 2025
Meet the array of experts taking you through the action on the ESPN network in PGA Tour and Major Championship broadcasts this year
By Jonny Leighfield Published
-
9 LIV Golfers Who Have Dropped Out Of The Masters Field Over The Last Two Years
Some LIV golfers who had played in The Masters over the last two years won’t be appearing in 2025 – here are the details
By Mike Hall Published